Wednesday 09.09.09: “AFRICAN UNION SCIENTIFIC AWARDS Ceremony: Five female Researchers will receive a prize for Excellence in Science”

Science and Technology is one of the key focal areas on Africa’s development agenda. The Constitutive Act, establishing the African Union, recognizes the need to advance the development of Africa by promoting research in all fields, and in particular, in science and technology.

In January 2007, the AU Heads of State and Government “declared 2007 as the launching year for building constituencies and champions for science, technology and innovation in Africa”. In response to this political momentum and commitment to: – raise community awareness,- engage African citizens in Africa’s science and technology programmes, promote elements of human intellectual development, encourage technological and scientific leadership and – strengthen Africa’s research capacities, the AU Commission, with the support of its key Development Partners, initiated the prestigious “African Union Scientific Awards Programme” targeting young researchers at Member State level, women at regional level and open to all outstanding scientists at continental level .

The programme is designed to celebrate the achievements of African scientists and to promote all efforts to transform scientific research into entrepreneurship, attract investments to Africa, and create research centers of excellence. It will further encourage the science community, and the public to participate in scientific engagements towards addressing critical problems in Africa. The programme will contribute towards raising the profile of science and technology sector and building a scientific culture amongst African citizens. There is a strong urge for Africa to quickly mobilize its scientific resources, competencies and comparative advantages to champion programmes that promote access to science and technology by all, strengthen research capacities, and increase the use, and generation of scientific knowledge for the development of the continent.

A prize will be awarded to each of the following two scientific sectors (a) Life and Earth Sciences ; and (b) Basic Science, Technology and Innovation.

Application forms for the African Union Scientific Award for the outstanding scientist should be received by the Commission not later than 9th September 2009, African Union Day.
Applications for this award should be sent to:
H.E. Prof. J. P. Ezin
Commissioner for Human Resources, Science and Technology
African Union Commission
P.O. Box 3243
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Fax: +251 115517844

Applications received after the above-mentioned deadlines will not be considered. More information on this award is available on the AUC website:

Read the more about the African Union Scientific Awards version April 09– doc
Read the Awards Brochure – doc

free web site hit counter

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: