On Tuesday 22nd June 2010, the EU and the ACP countries will sign the revision of the Cotonou agreement in Ouagadougou

Spanish EU Presidency website. On Tuesday 22nd June 2010, the European Union and the 79 countries of Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific (ACP) will sign the second revision of the Cotonou agreement in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso), which has formed the general basis of their mutual relations since the year 2000.

In 2005, the first of the five-year revisions foreseen in the initial text was signed, which included progress made in terms of  political dialogue.

This latest revision is the result of the negotiations that the two sides maintained from July 2009 to March 2010.

The signing ceremony will be attended by the Spanish Minister of Foreign Affairs, Miguel Ángel Moratinos, as Rotational President and representing the EU Council, and the Development Commissioner, Andris Pieblags, representing the European Commission, both of whom will be taking part in the EU-ACP Ministerial Council on Monday in the African capital.

The new version of the text reflects the growing importance of regional integration, strengthens cooperation in security matters and recognises climate change as a problem which must be dealt with at a global level.

Moreover, it gives greater importance to the institutions that the EU and the ACP have in common, and introduces international principles on the efficiency of development aid. as well as a series of procedures aimed at improving budget control.

In the next revision of the agreement, which will take place in 2010, the EU hopes to include specific points on cooperation on immigration matters.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: