Climate change: Africa is preparing for COP16

AU The Committee of African Heads of State and Government on Climate Change (CAHOSCC) will meet on 15 November 2010 at the Headquarters of the African Union (AU) to prepare and guide the African negotiating system to attend the 16th Conference of Parties (CoP16) meeting in Cancun, Mexico. CAHOSCC will review the state of play of global climate change negotiations since CoP15.

After the Copenhagen Accord, the African continent is heading to Cancun with a sharpened African common position on climate change for the 16th Conference of Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and the Kyoto Protocol.

Mrs Rhoda Peace Tumusiime, AU Commissioner for Rural Economy and Agriculture said this consultation is expected to give political leadership guidance on emerging issues for Ministers and expert negotiators to champion Africa’s concerns and interests. “Africa has positioned itself on the global climate change negotiations and we need to keep our hopes high” she added.

In light of the moderate success of CoP15 and the after effects of the global economic downturn, Africa’s expectations at the negotiations in Cancun include the review and facilitation of the pledges made by developed countries in order to constitute the Green Fund of the Copenhagen Accord. At Cancun, commitment to the Kyoto Protocol should be renewed “as time is ticking fast and Africa has the least capacity to adapt and combat the impacts of climate change” as stated by Mrs Tumusiime. To achieve these goals the CAHOSCC meeting is meant to strengthen unity and bring a coercive force among African parties.

The CAHOSCC Meeting is expected to be chaired by Prime Minister Meles Zenawi of Ethiopia in his capacity of coordinator. Malawi as Chair of the African Union, the Chairperson of the AUC, Mali as Chair of the African Ministerial Conference on the Environment and South Africa as host of the Seventeenth Conference of Parties (CoP17) in 2011 are also expected to attend. CAHOSCC is composed of Heads of State and Government of Algeria, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Kenya, Mauritius, Mozambique, Nigeria and Uganda.

Further information


Post your comments

free web site hit counter

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: